Eighth International Workshop on
               Deontic Logic in Computer Science

               Special Topic: Artificial Normative Systems

               Utrecht, The Netherlands
               12, 13, and 14 July 2006


The biennial DEON workshops are designed to promote cooperation among scholars across disciplines who are interested in deontic logic and its use in computer science. These workshops traditionally support research linking the formal-logical study of normative concepts and normative systems with computer science, artificial intelligence, philosophy, organisation theory and law. In addition to these general themes, DEON2006 will encourage a special focus on the topic

       Artificial Normative Systems

There have been seven previous DEON workshops: Amsterdam, December 1991; Oslo, January 1994; Sesimbra, January 1996; Bologna, January 1998; Toulouse, January 2000; London, May 2002; Madeira, May 2004. Selected papers from each of these workshops have been published internationally.

The Program Committee invites papers concerned with these

  • the logical study of normative reasoning, including formal systems of deontic logic, defeasible normative reasoning, the logic of action, and other related areas of logic,
  • the formal analysis of normative concepts and normative systems,
  • the formal representation of legal knowledge,
  • the formal specification of aspects of norm-governed multi-agent systems and autonomous agents, including (but not limited to) the representation of rights, authorisation, delegation, power, responsibility and liability,
  • the formal specification of normative systems for the management of bureaucratic processes in public or private administration,
  • applications of normative logic to the specification of database integrity constraints,
  • applications of normative logic to the specification of computer security protocols,
  • normative aspects of protocols for communication, negotiation and multi-agent decision making.
And the Committee especially welcomes papers addressing the workshop specific theme:


DEON2006 has a special focus on deontic notions in the theory, specification and implementation of artificial normative systems, such as electronic institutions, norm-regulated multi-agent systems, and artificial agent societies more generally. We also invite studies of hybrid systems, incorporating both human and computer-based agents. Topics of interest in this special theme include, but are not limited to:
  • normative systems
  • regulated multi-agent systems
  • norms in agent societies
  • normative agents
  • (electronic) institutions
  • virtual organisations
  • contracts, laws, regulations in artificial societies
  • norm violation and punishment
  • norm verification
We welcome both theoretical work (formal models, representations, specifications, logics, verification) and implementation-oriented work (architectures, programming languages, design models, simulations, prototype systems) on these specific topics.


Authors are invited to submit an original, previously unpublished, research paper pertaining to any of these
topics. The paper should be in English, and should be no longer than 15 pages, or approximately 7500 words. The first page should contain the full name and contact information for at least one of the authors, and it should contain an Abstract of no more than ten lines. Authors should submit their papers electronically, in either .pdf or .ps format.

Authors should consult the instructions on the website for submitting their papers electronically. (Anyone who is unable to send the paper electronically and wishes to submit hard copies should inquire for details from one of the Program Co-Chairs at the addresses given below.) Authors are especially encouraged to use the Springer LNCS styles if possible; these are available at The deadline for submission is 27 January 2006.

  • 27 January 2006: Submission deadline
  • 24 February 2006: Notification of acceptance
  • 24 March 2006: Deadline for final, camera-ready versions.
  • 12-14 July 2006: The Workshop

Copies of the Workshop Proceedings, will be provided to all participants. The proceedings will be published with Springer in their LNCS/LNAI series. In addition, we anticipate that revised versions of selected papers from the workshop will be published in a special issue of the Journal of Applied Logic (Elsevier).

  • Jose Carmo (Madeira)
  • Frank Dignum (Utrecht)
  • Paolo Petta (Vienna)

Lou Goble
Department of Philosophy
Willamette University
Salem, Oregon 97301, USA
phone: 1-503-370-6002
fax: 1-503-370-6944

John-Jules Ch. Meyer
Intelligent Systems Group
Institute of Information and Computing Sciences
Universiteit Utrecht
P.O.Box 80.089
3508 TB Utrecht, The Netherlands
phone: +31-(0)30-2534117
fax: +31-(0)30-2513791


Jan Broersen
Intelligent Systems Group
Institute of Information and Computing Sciences
Universiteit Utrecht
P.O.Box 80.089
3508 TB Utrecht, The Netherlands
phone: +31-(0)30-2533193
fax: +31-(0)30-2513791

Henry Prakken
Intelligent Systems Group
Institute of Information and Computing Sciences
Universiteit Utrecht
P.O.Box 80.089
3508 TB Utrecht, The Netherlands
phone: +31-(0)30-2532313
fax: +31-(0)30-2513791
also at: Centre for Law & ICT, Faculty of Law, University of Groningen,
phone +31-50-3635696.

  • Paul Bartha (University of British Columbia)
  • Jan Broersen (Universiteit Utrecht)
  • Mark Brown (Syracuse University)
  • José Carmo (University of Madeira)
  • Frédéric Cuppens (ENST-Bretagne Rennes)
  • Robert Demolombe (ONERA Toulouse)
  • Frank Dignum (Universiteit Utrecht)
  • Lou Goble (Willamette University, co-chair)
  • Risto Hilpinen (University of Miami)
  • John Horty (University of Maryland)
  • Andrew Jones (King's College London)
  • Lars Lindahl (University of Lund)
  • Alessio Lomuscio (University College London)
  • Paul McNamara (University of New Hampshire)
  • David Makinson (King's College London)
  • John-Jules Meyer (Universiteit Utrecht, co-chair)
  • Ron van der Meyden (University of New South Wales / NICTA)
  • Donald Nute (University of Georgia)
  • Rohit Parikh (City University of New York)
  • Henry Prakken (Universiteit Utrecht / University of Groningen)
  • Filipe Santos (ISCTE Portugal)
  • Giovanni Sartor (University of Bologna)
  • Krister Segerberg (Uppsala University)
  • Marek Sergot (Imperial College London)
  • Carles Sierra (IIIA-CSIC)
  • Leon van der Torre (CWI Amsterdam / Delft University of Technology)
  • Lennart Åqvist (Uppsala University)

To the DEON'06 homepage