Graphics: lectures

Site Navigation

Schedule (lectures)

Tue, Nov 13: Introduction and ray tracing basics
Thu, Nov 15: Vectors and curves
Tue, Nov 20: Curves, surfaces, and shading
Thu, Nov 22: Matrices
Tue, Nov 27: Linear and affine transformations
Thu, Nov 29: Perspective projection
Tue, Dec 4: Hidden surface elimination
Thu, Dec 6: Triangle rasterization
Tue, Dec 11: No lecture
Thu, Dec 13: Midterm Exam
Tue, Dec 18: Ray tracing: data structures and loose ends
Thu, Dec 20: No lecture
[Dec 24 - Jan 6: Xmas break, no lectures]
Tue, Jan 8: Texture mapping
Thu, Jan 10: A full graphics pipeline
Tue, Jan 15: Radiosity
Thu, Jan 17: Shadows and closing comments
Tue, Jan 22: No lecture
Thu, Jan 24: No lecture
Thu, Jan 31: Final Exam

schedule

Lecture notes

Below you find the slides and recordings of each lecture. Recordings are in QuickTime format and come in two resolutions: 640x480 for viewing on desktops and laptops and 320x240 which contain the same content but have been optimized for viewing on mobile devices such as the Apple iPod (hence the bigger data size). For the latter ones, there is also a blog where you can subscribe to an RSS feed or via iTunes in order to download the recordings (lower resolution) automatically to your iPod. Note: The blog is just for subscription but does not contain any additional material.

Interesting links

Metals and reflections.

A Practical Model for Subsurface Light Transport.

An improved illumination model for shaded display (earliest ray tracing paper, by T. Whitted).

A Survey of Geometric Data Structures for Ray Tracing, Y. Chang.

Perlin noise

More on Perlin noise, by the master himself

Radiosity page (practical and intuitive explanation)

Radiosity resources (links, papers, software).

Radiosity image (museum interior)

Stencil buffer tutorial

Practical and robust shadow volumes

A survey of real-time soft shadows algorithms

Book coverage (last year!)

Note: The 2nd edition of the book has a new chapter compared to the 1st edition; a new Chapter 4 has been inserted in between Chapter 3 and Chapter 5 (which was Chapter 4 in the 1st edition). So if you use the 1st edition, read k - 1 for any chapter number k > 4 in the text below.

Below you find the comments that apply for last year's course (i.e. 2006/2007). See the comments given above ("Recommended reading") for this year's lecture.